The Superset Vol 003

“The magic you are searching for, is in the work you are avoiding” - Chris Williamson

Volume 003

“The magic you are searching for, is in the work you are avoiding” - Chris Williamson

If you take one thing from “The Superset” this week, let it be this - You know what you need to do to accomplish your goal. You are just finding ways to justify not doing the work.

How’s that for a Monday morning bonk on the head? I am staring directly in the reflection of my computer screen as I type this out. I am speaking to myself.

I love the self-help and personal development space. We come to it in a frame of mind of seeking ways to improve. When operating in that space, there isn’t much that isn’t achievable.

On the same hand, sometimes we can get so deep in the weeds looking for the one thought, the one book, the one action that will shortcut us to our goals. For most of us, we already know exactly what we need to do. We are just not doing it.

  • I know what I should and should not be eating to achieve the physique I want

  • I know what extra work I can be doing in my job to advance my career

  • I know that scrolling on my phone isn’t productive for my mental health

  • I know getting 8 hours of sleep will improve my mood and health

If someone were to ask you how you would recommend to lose weight / read more / sleep more / scroll less - what would you tell them? Now just go do that.

Superset of the Week:

Brain - Kevin’s Rule - Plan for Growth

If I asked you to reflect on a random year, say 2021, and asked you what your biggest accomplishment was from that year, how long would it take you to come up with the answer?

Jesse Itzler, Founder of Marquis Jet and renowned public speaker, shared an idea that has stuck with me since the first listen - he calls it “1 Incredible Year”, inspired by Kevin’s Rule.

Kevin, one of Jesse Itzler’s close friends, encouraged Jesse to structure his year’s like so:

  1. Every year, have ONE “misogi" - One big accomplishment or life-defining moment you can point to

  2. Every other month, take one day to go do something you normally wouldn’t have done. That will end in 6 distinguishable experiences booked into your year

  3. Every quarter, add a new winning habit into your life. At the end of the year, you have incorporated 4 new positive habits into your routine

Seems simple on the surface, and an easy structure to follow - but how powerful if executed on?

My typical “misogi” has been endurance-based - 2021 I completed my first bodybuilding show. 2022 an Ironman 70.3. 2023 was a huge milestone with the 50 mile race, but I also got engaged, and will always say that was my biggest feat of the year.

Take action on this principle and check out the compounding effect. In 20 years, you could have:

  • 20 Year Defining Moments

  • 120 experiences you wouldn’t have otherwise had

  • 80 new winning habits

Life gets busy and we tend to default to our comfort zones. A simple structure like this can ensure you’re packing quality into each month, quarter, and year of your life.

  • What’s your misogi for this year? A race? A first child? A new job?

  • What’s something you can do this month you wouldn’t have done before? A music concert out of your normal genre? A hike? A workout class?

  • What’s a new winning habit for Q1? Drink a gallon of water a day? Read a page a day?

Body - Slow Down to Speed Up

Over the next decade, running is going to double, triple, and quadruple in popularity. The evidence is already there in the increasing number of races, applications to the big marathons like Boston, and movement of “hybrid athletes” lifting weights and knocking miles down.

Couple this with the health movement we are seeing in general - less alcohol consumption, more conscious discussion around sleep, stress, getting outdoors, etc. - and we have a recipe for a rocket ship ride in a sport that is accessible to us all.

As someone who started running at 245 pounds, out of shape, and a golfer’s foundation to build on, I have TWO priority insights to ensure if you get started, that you don’t fizzle out quickly.

#1 - Get fitted for a pair of running shoes

This will always be tip #1. You wouldn’t buy a Lamborghini and put ATV tires on it. Match your wheels to your body. The investment will return 10x in less soreness, aches, and more comfortable rides around town.

I’m a big believer in Hoka, but have rotated in Nike, Asics, Brooks, Speedland, OnCloud, and more. The brand is not as important as the fit. Here’s a great beginner article on shoes to start.

#2 - Slow down to speed up

If you’ve ever tried to run before and have shortly after quit, chances are it was because the experience was 0% enjoyable. I look back and laugh at how much ego I brought to the table of the first few runs, wanting to go out and run the distance I had picked (a mile, maybe two), as fast as I could.

The result? I could do one or two days of training, but the soreness was debilitating, the experience of an almost max heart rate was excruciating, and the perceived reward didn’t outweigh the sacrifice (most start running to get in better shape, like myself, which doesn’t happen overnight. No visible abs after my two runs, sadly enough).

The first half marathon my training buddy Alec and I signed up for we quit on just a few weeks in. How could we run 5 days a week and run 13.1 miles if going 3 miles, two times a week was leaving me wheelchair-bound?

It wasn’t until my first marathon attempt that I found the idea of aerobic baseline training, which is the scientific way to say slowing down to begin, in order to go faster later when you have logged enough miles. A few benefits of slowing down:

  • Fast-paced runs require your body to feed off of “glycogen”, which is an energy store in your muscles converted from the food you intake (carbs). We have a limited supply of glycogen to pull from in the body. Aerobic, slower runs however actually get your body accustomed to utilizing more fat for fuel (I have rarely lacked gas in this tank) - some studies showing up to 80% fat utilization & 20% glycogen

  • Running as a baseline is difficult on the body, especially at first. The pounding of the pavement affects your muscles, your joints, and blood flow. Combine that with soreness from over-extending yourself on pace, and you have a recipe for dust accumulation on those new fitted shoes. Slowing down eases the strain on the muscles, allowing you to acclimate to the initial pounding of the running.

  • Running slow miles for longer blocks of time acclimates your body to being on your feet for longer periods. You achieve not only physical wins, but mental wins too. If you are sucking air after one fast mile, being able to run 10 miles seems inconceivable. But if you run 4 slow miles, that win is logged as mental progress, you’ve stretched your baseline, and in turn, have proven to yourself that the distance will only be a time issue - you will get there if you continue to train and push.

My first 5-mile run of my first marathon in July 2021 is pictured above at a 10:00 / mile pace. Honestly, even that was too fast for my fitness level at the time. If you want to start running, I challenge you to take those new shoes and go run an 11:30 - 12:30 minute mile, and adjust from there. It will feel painfully slow probably, but trust me.

If you run 3 times a week, I would do two “long” runs that are at such an easy pace you can have a conversation during it, and 1 “short” run that focuses on speed. Each week go further on the long (10% is a good max rule), and faster on the short, and over time, you will be able to go further and faster. But you will not get to that point if you don’t swallow your ego to start. Even today there is a 2 - 2:30 min / mile difference between my fast and easy runs.

Slow down to speed up

Book - Jumpstart Your Running with “Born To Run” and “Can’t Hurt Me”

While some may roll their eyes, it is not a cliche to me when I tell people that I think David Goggins changed my life. His book “Can’t Hurt Me” came out just at the time of my life I needed it. I was working hard in my career, but my fitness and health was taking a back burner because I was lazy, undisciplined, and lacked a vision of what I wanted to look and feel like.

Goggins is not for everyone - if you haven’t read the book or aren’t familiar with him, he is a no non-sense, former Navy SEAL who’s life mission is to prove to people that they have more in the tank to give, at its simplest form.

His story resonated with me, and forced me to have some tough conversations with myself.

After reading Goggin’s book, I knew I wanted to give running a try. I quickly there after stumbled upon another life changing book, Born to Run. Without fail, EVERY SINGLE person I have recommended this book to has come back to me with a desire to run more or start running in general. It’s a page turner that will leave you thinking exactly what the title implies - us humans were born to run.

A Goggin’s quote to get your week started:

“Our culture has become hooked on the quick-fix, the life hack, efficiency. Everyone is on the hunt for that simple action algorithm that nets maximum profit with the least amount of effort. There’s no denying this attitude may get you some of the trappings of success, if you’re lucky, but it will not lead to a calloused mind or self-mastery. If you want to master the mind and remove your governor, you’ll have to become addicted to hard work. Because passion and obsession, even talent, are only useful tools if you have the work ethic to back them up.”

Breakthrough of the Week - Podcastnotes.org

A quick resource this week for your breakthrough of the week. If you are like me, and listen to a high volume of podcasts, you’ll probably often find yourself hearing a plethora of quotes you would like to remember, but aren’t in a state to draft notes properly.

Podcastnotes.org is a website I came across that covers a number of personal development podcasts and does exactly this. They describe the overall themes and key messages of an episode, as well as pulling some key quotes and lines that are worth remembering.

I love listening to podcasts while I run, while I work, and on the road. Podcastnotes lets me revisit the topics of these listens whenever I am in a place to take notes, ensuring I can turn the information into action.